HC Friboug-Gottéron



Frölunda, Kaprizov and Rönnberg first E.H.C. Fenix Outdoor Award winners


PRAGUE, Czech Republic – The Alliance of European Hockey Clubs (E.H.C.) held its first Fenix Outdoor European Hockey Awards ceremony on Tuesday in Prague, Czech Republic. The winners in the three categories were:


Fjällräven Young Player of the Year

Kirill Kaprizov (Salavat Yulayev Ufa, RUS)
The 20-year-old winger from Novokuznetsk, Russia had an outstanding season with his KHL club Salavat Yulayev Ufa and with the Russian national junior team, as well as establishing himself on Russia’s senior men’s team at the end of the season. Kaprizov set a new KHL record for rookies with 20 goals and 22 assists in 49 games with Salavat. The swift Russian was the main individual attraction at the 2017 IIHF World Juniors in Canada, where he was named tournament Best Forward and elected to the tournament All Star Team while leading the World Juniors in goals (9) and points (12). Kaprizov was signed by CSKA Moscow during the off-season.

The other nominees in this category were:
Joel Eriksson Ek
(Färjestad, SWE) – has scored at every level, club & national team, dominant at 20
Dominik Kubalik (HC Plzen, CZE) – 48 pts in 51 GP in Czech league, 6 pts in 6 GP in Champions HL
Oskar Lindblom (Brynäs Gävle, SWE) –
among SHL leaders in G & Pts, made Team Sweden debut
Ilya Sorokin (CSKA Moscow, RUS) – Amazing 1.66 GAA, .929 SVS% in KHL, soon Russia’s #1 goalie?


Globetrotter Coach of the Year
Roger Rönnberg (Frölunda Gothenburg, SWE)
In his fourth season with the Frölunda Indians, Rönnberg led his team to its third consecutive Champions Hockey League Final and second consecutive win. After losing the 2015 Final to SHL-rival Luleå, Rönnberg’s relentless dedication to international hockey showed the 2016 CHL Final victory vs. Finland’s Kärpät Oulu (2-1). Rönnberg became an early favourite for the Coach of the Year Award when he once again led the Gothenburg club to yet another European crown, this time by defeating Sparta Prague (CZE) 4-3, in dramatic overtime. Rönnberg has earned much praise for his way of developing young players.

The other nominees in this category were:
Pavel Gross (Grizzlys Wolfsburg, GER) – Against odds, leads his club 2nd consecutive DEL final
Kari Jalonen
(SC Bern, SUI) – Has led Bern to first back-to-back titles in NLA in 16 years 
Filip Pesan (Bili Tygri Liberec, CZE) –  Instilled a winning culture, turned club into a national force
Jussi Tapola (Tappara Tampere, FIN) – Finland’s 2016 Coach of the Year, had another huge season


Hanwag Club of the Year
Frölunda Gothenburg (SHL, SWE)
Few clubs can enjoy three heavy titles within 12 months. After winning the Champions Hockey League in February 2016, Frölunda took its first Swedish Hockey League title under coach Rönnberg in April 2016 and in February 2017 repeated the European success with the second consecutive CHL title. One has to go back to the late '80s and the famous CSKA Moscow to find a club with similar European impact. During the past season, Frölunda put 30 players on various European national teams, 23 on junior national teams (U16-U20) and 10 on senior national teams.

The other nominees in this category were:
Cardiff Devils (EIHL, GBR) – First national title in 20 years + Cup title; goes to Champions HL
SC Bern (NLA, SUI) – From 8th to 1st in NLA, for 16th straight year best Euro attendance, over 16,000
Tappara Tampere (Liiga, FIN) – Dominated like in 70-80s glory days, win regular season + title
Vienna Capitals (EBEL, AUT) – Complete dominance, regular season win & 12-0 run in playoffs

The nominations were determined by a group of selected hockey experts from eight European countries. For the Fjällräven Young Player of the Year Award, professional scouts from Europe were included in the voting process. To be eligible for the Young Player of the Year Award, the player must have been under 22 years of age as of September 15, 2016. Go to @EHCAlliance for updates and photos from ceremony.

About the Alliance of European Hockey Clubs: The alliance was formally founded on 13 June 2016 at the E.H.C.´s first Annual General Meeting in Berlin, by some 70 clubs from 13 European countries. Ice Hockey thus became the third major European team sport, after football’s European Club Association (ECA) and Forum Club Handball (FCH), to found a club alliance with the mandate to look after and promote the interests of the professional hockey clubs and represent them internationally. The E.H.C. currently has 80 member clubs from 13 European countries.

About Fenix Outdoor Group: www.fenixoutdoor.se is an international group of eight outdoor brands; Fjällräven, Tierra, Primus, Brunton and Hanwag (development and production of outdoor gear and apparel) while Naturkompaniet (SWE), Partioaitta (FIN) and Globetrotter (GER) make up Fenix’ retail division. The company is listed on the Nasdaq OMX, Stockholm, Mid Cap. Fenix Outdoor was founded in 1967, with Fjällräven founded in 1960 by Åke Nordin in Örnsköldsvik, Sweden. The iconic popularity of the Kånken rucksack has reached global proportions.